TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a/ JPS HEALTH NETWORK JOINT BOARD OF MANAGERS AND QUALITY COMMITTEE MEETING

OUTPATIENT BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR AUDITORIUM 1500 S. MAIN STREET FORT WORTH, TX 76104

Thursday, June 21, 2018

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers and Quality Committee met on Thursday, June 21, 2018 at JPS Health Network, 1500 S Main Street, 3rd Floor Outpatient Conference Rooms with the following Board/Committee members present:

Chuck Webber, M.D., Committee Chair

Dorothy DeBose Rex Hyer, M.D. D.T. Nguyen Brian Webb, M.D. Nestor Zenarosa, M.D.

Members Absent:

Rev. Ralph Emerson

Patient Advisors:

Adrienne Calvin Shirley Earley

Others Attending:

Robert Earley, President and Chief Executive Officer

Bill Whitman, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer Sharon Clark, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff

J.R. Labbe, Vice President, Communications and Community Affairs

Lara Burnside, Senior Vice President, Strategy, Chief Patient Experience Officer

Trudy Sanders, Vice President, Patient Care Services

Timothy Kremer, M.D., Senior Vice President, Chief Medical Officer Timothy Niacaris, M.D., Vice President, Chief Medical Information Officer

Michael Hochberg, M.D., President, Chief Medical Officer, Acclaim

Kathleen Whelan, Vice President, Network Operations

Jaime Pillai, Vice President, Support Services

Allan Graves, General Counsel

Chet Schrader, M.D., Medical Staff President

Nicole Coursey, Recording Secretary

I CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Chuck Webber called the June 21, 2018 meeting to order at 1:37 p.m. Members present represented a quorum to conduct committee business.

II CITIZENS WISHING TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

There were no citizens present to address the Board.

III CONSIDER MATTERS REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

A. Approval of Minutes

Dr. Webber called for a motion to approve the March 1, 2018 minutes.

1. March 1, 2018

Action: Dorothy Debose made a motion for approval on the March 1, 2018 minutes; motion was seconded by D.T. Nguyen and carried unanimously.

B. Approval of Tarrant County Hospital District Policies and/or Plans

Summary: The following policies were presented to the committee for approval purposes

- Approval of Policy EC 2000 Compressed Cylinder Safety Policy J. Pillai
 Action: Dr. Webber requested a motion to approve EC 2000 Compressed Cylinder Safety
 Policy as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose and seconded by
 Rex Hyer, M.D. Motion carried unanimously.
- 2. Approval of Policy MM 600 Medication Diversion Prevention K. Whelan **Action:** Dr. Webber requested a motion to approve Policy MM 600 Medication Diversion Prevention as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose and seconded by Dr. Hyer. Motion carried unanimously.
- 3. Approval of Policy PC 900 Practitioner House Staff Orders T. Sanders Action: Dr. Webber requested a motion to approve Policy PC 900 Practitioner House Staff Orders as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose with the exclusion of the term intern and seconded by Mr. Nguyen. Motion carried unanimously.
- 4. Approval of Policy NR 400 Reporting to the Nurse Peer Review Committee T. Sanders **Action:** Dr. Webber requested a motion to approval Policy NR 400 Reporting to the Nurse Peer Review Committee as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose and seconded by Nestor Zenarosa, M.D. Motion carried unanimously.
- 5. Archival of Policy PC 1300 Laboratory Services and Guidelines Policy T. Sanders Action: Dr. Webber requested a motion to archive Policy PC 1300 Laboratory Services and Guidelines as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose and seconded by Mr. Nguyen. Motion carried unanimously.

Approval of Policy RI 1700 Informed Consent Policy – T. Niacaris, M.D.
 Action: Dr. Webber requested a motion to approve Policy RI 1700 Informed Consent as presented. The motion to approve was made by Mrs. DeBose and seconded by Brian Webb, M.D. Motion carried unanimously.

IV. CONSIDER PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT REPORTS/UPDATES – NOT REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

1. AMI Program (Disease Specific Certification)

Summary: Anne Goodrich and Elizabeth Reed presented the AMI Program (Disease Specific Certification) report. The AMI Program – Acute Myocardial Infarction was surveyed in April and was re-certified by The Joint Commission through April 2020. A brief summary of the mission, goals, strengths, and future goals of the program were presented.

This item is for information purposes only. No action(s) are required from the committee.

2. Patient, Employee & Physician Experience Update

Summary: Lara Burnside presented Patient, Employee & Physician Experience Updates. She gave a brief summary on the most recent results of the patient experience dashboard, which consisted of HCAHPS, threshold, target and stretch for the 2018 fiscal year. Ms. Burnside reports that we have received about 70,000 surveys back from our patients. We are continuing to make progress in each area.

This item is for information purposes only. No action(s) are required from the committee.

- V. RECONVENE IN EXECUTIVE SESSION PURSUANT TO CHAPTER 551, TEXAS GOVERNMENTCODE FOR THE FOLLOWING: The committee reconvened in Executive Session at 1:53 p.m.
- VI RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION FOR DELIBERATION(S) AND/OR ACTION(S) DEEMED NECESSARY REGARDING ANY MATTER LISTED ON THE CLOSED SESSION AGENDA, PARAGRAPHS V. A, B, C, D, E, F AND G. The committee reconvened in open session at 2:35 p.m.
- VII ADJOURN

There being no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned at 2:36 p.m.

Charles E. Webby P. Chuck Webber, M.D.

Date Date