TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK

1500 S. MAIN STREET
FORT WORTH, TEXAS 76104
OUTPATIENT BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR AUDITORIUMS

JOINT BOARD OF MANAGERS AND QUALITY COMMITTEE MEETING 1:30 P.M. THURSDAY, SEPTEMBER 7, 2017

MEETING MINUTES

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers and Quality Committee met on Thursday, July 6, 2017 at JPS Health Network, 1500 S Main Street, 3rd Floor Outpatient Conference Rooms with the following Board members present:

Roy Lowry, D.O., Committee Chair

Rev. Ralph Emerson Dorothy DeBose Rex Hyer, M.D.

Chuck Webber, M.D. Brian Webb, M.D. Chet Schrader, M.D.

Daniel Ziegler, M.D., President, Medical Staff

Members Absent:

D.T. Nguyen

Patient Advisors:

Adrienne Calvin Shirley Earley

Others Attending:

Robert Earley, President and Chief Executive Officer

Bill Whitman, Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer Frank Rosinia, M.D., Executive Vice President, Chief Quality Officer Wanda Peebles, Senior Vice President, Chief Nursing Officer Sharon Clark, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff

J.R. Labbe, Vice President, Communications and Community Affairs Lara Burnside, Vice President, Chief Patient Experience Officer

Trudy Sanders, Vice President, Patient Care

James Johnson, M.D., President/Chief Medical Officer, Acclaim Physician Group

Neal Adams, General Counsel

Monaliza Gaw, Executive Director, Quality

Kami Walker, Director, Patient Safety and Regulatory

Kathleen Whelan, Vice President, Operations and Professional Services

Melinda Costin, Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer

Pia Walker, Vice President, Human Resources & Learning

Tricia Elliott, M.D., Vice President, Chief Academic Affairs Officer

Merianne Roth, Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer

Karen Duncan, Senior Vice President, Community Health Services Madhura Chandak, Executive Director, Clinical Integration Ashley Abram, Recording Secretary

I CALL TO ORDER

Dr. Roy Lowry called the September 7, 2017 meeting to order at 1:36 p.m. Members present represented a guorum to conduct committee business.

II CITIZENS WISHING TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

There were no citizens present to address the Board.

III CONSIDER MATTERS REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

A. Approval of Minutes

Dr. Lowry called for a motion to approve the July 6, 2017 minutes.

1. July 6, 2017

Action: Chuck Webber. M.D., made a motion for approval on the July 6, 2017 minutes; motion was seconded by Charlie Powell and carried unanimously.

IV. CONSIDER PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT REPORTS/UPDATES – NOT REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

1. Quality Outcomes Update

Summary: Wanda Peebles and Monaliza Gaw presented an update on quality outcomes and progress related to attaining the organizational Destination Metrics of creating a safe environment of care for patients and families at JPS. Ms. Gaw explained that the Destination Metric supports the organizational goal of achieving a Leapfrog Hospital Safety survey grade of B for 2018 and grade of A for 2020. She also clarified that the metrics presented are based on publicly reported definitions that are the standard for the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid (CMS) and The Leapfrog Group. Ms. Peebles discussed the action plans for catheter associated urinary tract infections (CAUTI), central line blood stream infections (CLABSI), and hospital acquired pressure injuries (HAPI). Ms. Gaw discussed the action plans for surgical site infections (SSI) and Clostridium Difficile (C-Diff). Ms. Gaw discussed the importance of hand hygiene when it comes to preventing C. Diff and Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) infections. As a result of the SSI data presented, Dr. Lowry recommended that the organizational goal for FY 2018 should be to focus efforts on improving outcomes for SSI.

Presentation attached and is for information purposes only.

No action(s) are required from the committee.

V. RECONVENE IN EXECUTIVE SESSION PURSUANT TO CHAPTER 551, TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE FOR THE FOLLOWING: The committee reconvened in Executive Session at 2:13 p.m.

- RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION FOR DELIBERATION(S) AND/OR ACTION(S) DEEMED NECESSARY VI REGARDING ANY MATTER LISTED ON THE CLOSED SESSION AGENDA, PARAGRAPHS V. A, B, C, **D, E, F AND G.** The committee reconvened in open session at 3:01p.m.
- VII **ADJOURN**

There being no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned at 3:03 p.m.

Charles E. Willey Chuck Webber, M.D.

1 Mar. 2018 Date