MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK HUMAN RESOURCES COMMITTEE MEETING THURSDAY, JANUARY 26, 2017

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers Human Resources Committee met Thursday, January 26, 2017 in the 3rd Floor OPC Auditoriums located at 1500 S. Main Street, Fort Worth, Texas, 76104 with the following Board members present:

Members Present: Dorothy DeBose, Committee Chair

DT Nguyen, Member

Nestor Zenarosa, M.D., Member

Not In Attendance: Rev. Ralph Emerson

Roger Fisher, Member

Allan Podawiltz

Others Attending: Robert Earley, President/CEO

Bill Whitman, Exec. Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Charlie Powell, Board Chair

Charles Webber, M.D., Board Vice Chair Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff

Pia Walker, Interim Vice President, Human Resources

Ronald Skillens, Senior Vice President, Enterprise Risk Management J.R. Labbe, Vice President, Communications & Community Affairs

Merianne Roth, Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer Nydia Gonzalez, Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer Michelle Green-Ford, Director, Diversity & Inclusion

Jeni McGarry, Precinct Administrator

Neal Adams, Legal Counsel

Steve Sullivan, Principal, Pearl Meyer Elva E. Medina, Recording Secretary

I. Call To Order

With a quorum present, committee Chair Dorothy DeBose called the meeting to order at 12:25 p.m.

- II. Hearing of Citizens There were no citizens requesting to speak.
- III. Approval of Minutes: Upon motion duly made and seconded, the draft minutes of the November 10, 2016, Committee minutes were approved as presented.
- IV. Consider Human Resources Reports/Updates Not Requiring Committee Actions:
 - 1. Annual and Long Term Incentive Plan Performance Metrics Bill Whitman presented the 2016 & 2017 Annual and Long Term Incentive Plan metrics. In reviewing the metrics, he informed the audience that as established on the plan, the 2016 pay-out was distributed to staff. He summarized the 2017 Annual Incentive Plan and indicated that the primary difference between FY16 & FY17 is around Stewardship. In FY16, operating margin was used as a trigger enabling staff to participate in the plan. For FY17, Stewardship will be the sole trigger with a focus on DSRIP participation and success along with total paid FTEs.

Weight measures will remain intact. After a brief discussion regarding the proposed changes, Mr. Whitman asked approval from the committee members to adopt the proposed FY17 Annual Incentive Plan metrics.

DT Nguyen asked staff to modify Population Health/Access description to read Improve *Days to* 3^{rd} *Next Available* ~ *Primary Care*.

Committee Chair Dorothy Debose called for a motion to approve the 2017 Annual Incentive Plan as presented. The motion was moved by Dr. Charles Webber and seconded by Board Chair Charlie Powell. The motion passed unanimously.

Furthermore, Mr. Whitman led the committee in a brief review of the Long Term Annual Incentive Plan (LTIP). The committee was reminded that the plan only pays every three years. Metrics were previously set for fiscal years 16, 17 and 18. According to the plan structure, the only element of the plan that can be adjusted is level of performance. Mr. Whitman indicated that the following adjustments are being presented for future consideration, not to obtain approval today. Recommendations consisted of the following:

- 1) Reduce Preventable Harm Bundle to remain intact with the addition of Surgical Site Infections as a new measure.
- 2) Adjust Reduce Ambulatory Care Sensitive Conditions (ACSC) Admission rate to Reduce Ambulatory Care Sensitive Conditions (ACSC) % of ED Visits. Mr. Whitman said this could be an effective strategy to monitor clinic functionality to help reduce ED admissions. He further said this new indicator is a tactic to help monitor how well the clinics are managing ambulatory care-sensitive conditions in the outpatient setting.

Mr. Whitman indicated that if the above referenced metrics are added, staff will start monitoring four metrics beginning October 2017. Consultant Steve Sullivan indicated that if modifications are granted, all four metrics will be measured for a period of two years. If no further changes are applied, the existing metrics will expire in 2019. To conclude, Mr. Sullivan said adjustments to the plan can be easily managed and implemented through communication to staff.

- Succession Planning Pia Walker informed the committee that the Exeter Group continues to work on the development of the program. Mrs. Walker said the project is still in its early stages. Further updates will continue to be provided to the committee during upcoming meetings.
- V. Recess and Reconvene in Executive Session Pursuant to Chapter 551, Texas Government Code for the Following: With no further business to discuss during Open Session, the Chair called for a motion to recess into Executive Session. The motion passed unanimously. The Committee recessed to Executive Session at 1:23 p.m.
- VI. Reconvene in Open Session for Deliberation(s) and/or Action(s) deemed necessary regarding any matter listed on the Closed Session Agenda, Paragraphs IV. A and B. The committee reconvened to open session at 2:28 p.m.

VII. Adjourn: With no further business to discuss during open session, the meeting adjourned at 2:30 p.mg

Lattathy DeBese