TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK 1500. S. MAIN STREET FORT WORTH, TX 76104 **OUTPATIENT BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR AUDITORIUMS**

Joint Board of Managers and Human Resources Committee Meeting 12:00 P.M., Thursday, January 24, 2019

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers Human Resources Committee met Thursday, January 24, 2019 at JPS Health Network, 1500 S. Main Street, 3rd Floor Outpatient Conference Rooms with the following Board members present:

Dorothy DeBose, committee chair

Rev. Ralph Emerson

Roger Fisher DT Nguyen

Steve Montgomery

Alan Podawiltz, D.O.

Not In Attendance: Grant Fowler, M.D.

Others Attending:

Robert Earley, President/CEO

Bill Whitman, Sr. Executive Vice President, Chief Operating Officer

Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff

Pia Walker, Sr. Vice President, Human Resources

Sharon Clark, Sr. Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Michael Hochberg, M.D., President, Chief Medical Officer, Acclaim Physician Group

Lara Burnside, Sr. Vice President, Strategy, Chief Patient Experience Officer

Timothy Kremer, M.D, Sr. Vice President, Chief Medical Officer Tricia Elliott, M.D., Vice President, Chief Academic Affairs Officer

Zelia Baugh, Executive Vice President, Behavioral Services

Karen Duncan, M.D., Executive Vice President, Community Health

Trisha Swift, Vice President, Chief Quality Officer

Bill Kingston, Vice President, Philanthropy & Community Development

J.R. Labbe, Vice President, Communications & Community Affairs

Michelle Green-Ford, Vice President, Diversity & Inclusion

Annica Fischer, Executive Director, Patient Experience/Strategy

Julian Orozco, Administrative Fellow Cory Hartsfield, General Counsel Elva E. Medina, Recording Secretary

I. Call To Order

With a quorum present, committee Chair Dorothy DeBose called the meeting to order at 12:06 p.m.

- II. Hearing of Citizens There were no citizens requesting to speak.
- III. Consider Matters Requiring Committee Action
 - Approval of Minutes: A motion was made by Dr. Alan Podawiltz, seconded by Steve Montgomery to approve the minutes of the November 15, 2018 HR Committee meeting. The motion carried unanimously.
- IV. Reports/Updates Not Requiring Committee Actions:
 - 1. **Human Resources (HR) Key Performance Indicators Scorecard** Pia Walker presented a summary of the first quarter fiscal 2019 Turnover trends. The report outlined historical data broken down by quarter and fiscal year. Mrs. Walker said staff will continue to focus on the development and implementation of new retention strategies.
 - 2. FY18 / FY19 Annual Incentive Plan (AIP) Metrics Bill Whitman presented an executive summary of the first quarter 2019 Performance metrics focused on Quality, Service, People, Stewardship, Population Health and Academics. He discussed the progress of each individual metric and stated that staff will continue to focus on quality improvement initiatives.
 - 3. Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP) Metrics Mr. Whitman presented a brief overview of the LTIP metrics focused on Leapfrog Hospital Safety and Cost per Adjusted Patient Admissions. The report was reviewed and discussed by the committee. Mr. Whitman informed the audience that the first quarter 2019 performance results will be presented during upcoming meetings.

The above reports were presented for informational purposes only with no action required from the Committee.

- V. Recess and Reconvene in Executive Session Pursuant to Chapter 551, Texas Government Code. The committee recessed into a special Executive Session at 12:22 P.M. The committee reconvened into Open Session at approximately 12:35 P.M. No motions resulted from the session. The committee reconvene into Executive Session at 12:36 P.M.
- VI. Reconvene in Open Session for Deliberation(s) and/or Action(s) deemed necessary regarding any matter listed on the Closed Session Agenda, Paragraphs IV. A and B. The committee reconvened in Open Session at 2:08 P.M., took the actions identified on sections III and IV with the following action(s):

Summary: Dorothy Debose called for a motion to approve Robert Earley, President/Chief Executive Officer 2% annual merit increase and 3% market increase effective October 1, 2018. Motioned by Dr. Charles Webber, seconded by Roger Fischer to approve Robert Earley's 2% annual merit increase and 3% market increase effective October 1, 2018. The motion carried unanimously.

VII. Adjourn: There being no further business, and upon motion duly made and seconded, the meeting adjourned at 2:10 P.M.

Date

2