# TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK 1500. S. MAIN STREET FORT WORTH, TX 76104 OUTPATIENT BUILDING, 3<sup>RD</sup> FLOOR AUDITORIUMS

# Joint Board of Managers and Human Resources Committee Meeting 12:00 PM Thursday, December 7, 2017

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers Human Resources Committee met Thursday, December 7, 2017 at JPS Health Network, 1500 S. Main Street, 3<sup>rd</sup> Floor Outpatient Conference Rooms with the following Board members present:

> Dorothy DeBose, Committee Chair Rev. Ralph Emerson Charles Powell Charles Webber, M.D. Trent Petty Nestor Zenarosa, M.D. Steve Montgomery

Not In Attendance: DT Nguyen Alan Podawiltz, D.O. Roger Fisher

Robert Earley, President/CEO **Others Attending:** Bill Whitman, Exec. Vice President & Chief Operating Officer Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff Pia Walker, Vice President, Human Resources Sharon Clark, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer Melinda Costin, Senior Vice President, Chief Information Officer Nydia Gonzalez, Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer Merianne Roth, Vice President, Chief Strategic Officer Michelle Green-Ford, Director, Diversity & Inclusion Mona Gaw, Executive Director, Quality Services Neal Adams, General Counsel Steve Sullivan, Consultant, Pearl Meyers Annica Fisher, Director, JPS Care/Patient Experience Riana Poullard, Labor & Employment Attorney Diana Brodeur, Director, Communications & Branding Dennis G. Killy, Tarrant Alliance for Responsible Government Jeni McGarry, Precinct 2, Tarrant County Commissioners Court Elva E. Medina, Recording Secretary

#### I. Call To Order

With a quorum present, committee Chair Dorothy DeBose called the meeting to order at 12:01 p.m.

II. Hearing of Citizens - There were no citizens requesting to speak.

## III. Consider Matters Requiring Committee Action

- 1. **Approval of Minutes:** Motion by Steve Montgomery and seconded by Ralph Emerson, the draft minutes of the September 28, 2017 committee meeting were approved unanimously as presented.
- 2. Approval of Tarrant County Hospital District Policies & Procedures General Counsel Neal Adams presented the following District policies for the committee's consideration:

# a. HR1600 Paid Time Off Benefit (PTO)

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Mr. Montgomery for the approval of Policy HR 1600 and the motion carried unanimously.

## b. HR1900 Education Leave Benefit

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Mr. Montgomery for the approval of Policy HR1900 and carried unanimously.

#### c. HR2500 Educational Reimbursement

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Mr. Montgomery for the approval of Policy HR2500 and carried unanimously.

#### d. HR5600 Demotion Policy Statement

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Mr. Montgomery for the approval of Policy HR5600 and carried unanimously.

### e. HR6200 Promotion Policy Statement

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Charles Powell for the approval of Policy HR6200 and carried unanimously.

#### f. HR7000 Jury Duty & Court Appearances

**Motion:** Motion by Rev. Emerson; and seconded by Dr. Nick Zenarosa for the approval of Policy HR7000 and carried unanimously.

3. Annual Incentive Plan Performance (AIP) Metrics - Bill Whitman reported on the FY17 year-to-date results of the measured goals in the Annual Incentive Plan. He reminded the audience that the trigger for the Annual Incentive Plan payout is to achieve a target of 1.5% net operating margin. He proceeded to report FY16 outcomes and FY17 results.

To conclude his report Mr. Whitman presented the FY18 Annual Incentive Plan, which included FY17 results and proposed threshold, target and stretch goals for FY18. Mr. Whitman recommendation was to present this proposal to the board for full approval.

4. Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP) - Mr. Whitman reminded the audience that the JPS Long Term Incentive Plan is a three (3) year plan. The LTIP trigger is to achieve target of 1.5% net operating margin. The scorecard outlined the FY15, FY16 and FY17 results as of December 1, 2017.

To conclude, he presented the FY18 LTIP proposal which included the recommendation to improve Leapfrog score and access to specialty care services.

# IV. Consider Human Resources Reports/Updates – Not Requiring Committee Actions

- 1. Human Resources (HR) Key Performance Indicators Scorecard Pia Walker provided an executive summary of the year-to-date 2017 Human Resources Dashboard. The report outlined FY16 results and FY17 turnover trends broken down by quarter and fiscal year.
- 2. Employee Engagement Survey Results Mrs. Walker presented an executive summary of the 2017 Employee Engagement Survey results. The report included data broken down according to categories such as summary of results, key drivers of engagement, highest performing units and Tier distribution. Mrs. Walker said that based on feedback received during the 2017 Employee Engagement survey, overall scores rank in the 92% of participation, and 4.36 employee engagement score. Records indicate this as the highest participation rate yet.

The above reports were presented for informational purposes only with no action required from the Committee.

- V. Recess and Reconvene in Executive Session Pursuant to Chapter 551, Texas Government Code. The Human Resources Committee reconvened in Executive Session at 1:33 P.M.
- VI. Reconvene in Open Session for Deliberation(s) and/or Action(s) deemed necessary regarding any matter listed on the Closed Session Agenda, Paragraphs IV. A and B. The Human Resources Committee reconvened in open session at 3:30P.M., took the actions identified above in sections III.3 with the following actions:

**Summary:** Dorothy Debose called for a motion to adopt and approve the administration recommendation for the payout of the 2017 Annual Incentive Plan (AIP) and the Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP).

**Action:** Motion by Trent Petty to adopt and approve the administration's recommendations for paying out the 2017 Annual Incentive Plan (AIP). Dr. Webber seconded the motion. Motion passed unanimously.

VII. Adjourn: There being no further business, and upon motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned at 3:36 P.M.

onother Albere rothy DeBose, Chair

Date