TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK 1500. S. MAIN STREET FORT WORTH, TX 76104 OUTPATIENT BUILDING, 3RD FLOOR AUDITORIUMS

Joint Board of Managers and Human Resources Committee Meeting 12:00 PM Thursday, January 25, 2018

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers Human Resources Committee met Thursday, January 25, 2018 at JPS Health Network, 1500 S. Main Street, 3rd Floor Outpatient Conference Rooms with the following Board members present:

Dorothy DeBose, Committee Chair

Rev. Ralph Emerson

Charles Powell

Charles Webber, M.D.

Trent Petty

DT Nguyen

Steve Montgomery

Roger Fisher

Nestor Zenarosa, M.D.

Alan Podawiltz, D.O.

Not In Attendance:

Others Attending:

Robert Earley, President/CEO

Bill Whitman, Exec. Vice President & Chief Operating Officer

Chet Schrader, M.D., President Medical Staff

Scott Rule, Vice President, Chief of Staff

Pia Walker, Vice President, Human Resources & Learning

Sharon Clark, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer

Lara Burnside, Vice President, Chief Experience Officer

Karen Duncan, M.D., Sr. Vice President, Community Health

Nydia Gonzalez, Vice President, Chief Diversity Officer

J.R. Labbe, Vice President, Communications & Community Affairs

Melinda Costin, Sr. Vice President, Chief Information Officer

Merianne Roth, Vice President, Chief Strategy Officer

Tricia Elliott, Vice President, Academic Affairs

Michelle Green-Ford, Director, Diversity & Inclusion

Neal Adams, General Counsel

Elva E. Medina, Recording Secretary

I. Call To Order: With a quorum present, committee Chair Dorothy DeBose called the meeting to order at 12:38 p.m.

- I. Hearing of Citizens There were no citizens requesting to speak.
- II. Consider Matters Requiring Committee Action
 - Approval of Minutes: Motion by Dr. Charles Webber and seconded by Dr. Nestor Zenarosa, the draft minutes of the December 7, 2017 committee meeting were approved unanimously as presented.
 - 2. Annual Incentive Plan Performance (AIP) Metrics Bill Whitman indicated that after analyzing the AIP metrics and discussing the results with Dorothy DeBose and DT Nguyen, it has been suggested to add Improve Specialty Care Access-Reduce Days from Referral Date to Appointment Date as a new performance indicator to the Population Health metric. This measure captures the four top specialties, which include endocrinology, gastroenterology, pulmonology and urology. He indicated staff has been aware of this change and have been working toward improvement. This new change became effective September 2017 and if approved, it will be applied to the FY18 Annual Incentive Plan.

Motion: Dorothy DeBose called for a motion to add Improve Specialty Care Access-Reduce Days from Referral Date to Appointment Date as a Population Health leading indicator.

Action: The committee unanimously approved the motion made by Trent Petty, seconded by DT Nguyen to add Specialty Care Access-Reduce Days from Referral Date as a Population Health leading indicator to the Annual Incentive Plan (AIP).

3. Long Term Incentive Plan (LTIP) - Mr. Whitman went into detail explaining the three Long Term Incentive Plan scorecards. He said continuous improvement is necessary to reduce overall cost per adjusted patient admissions. He recommended to add Cost Per Adjusted Patient Admission as a long term performance indicator. Whitman recommended not focusing on Leapfrog's one letter grade improvement for this new metric, but instead to use this metric to focus on the improvement over self. If approved, this indicator will be added to the Long Term Incentive Plan and the organizational goals. Hospital Operating Margin will be removed from the Long Term Incentive Plan, but will remain on the Organizational goals as an indicator.

After a brief discussion among members of the committee, Mr. Whitman and Sharon Clark were asked to present year-to-date Cost Per Adjusted Patient Admission data during the next scheduled meeting.

Motion: Dorothy DeBose called for a motion to approve the adoption of Cost Per Adjusted Patient Admission as a long term Stewardship/Finance leading indicator.

Action: The committee unanimously approved the motion made by Trent Petty, seconded by DT Nguyen to add Cost Per Adjusted Patient Admission as a long term Steward/Finance leading indicator.

- III. Consider Human Resources Reports/Updates Not Requiring Committee Actions
 - 1. Human Resources (HR) Key Performance Indicators Scorecard Pia Walker provided an executive summary of the year-to-date 2017 Human Resources Dashboard. The report outlined the 1st quarter of FY17-18 turnover trends broken down by job class.
 - 2. Succession Development Update Mrs. Walker explained the status of the Succession Development Plan project. She reported the completion of Part 1 of the plan. Career Development plans and Top Performer profiles have been completed. The next step is to introduce the succession planning network-wide. Further she said that by end of 2019, all staff members will have completed career development plans. To conclude, she said, she will continue to report the progress of this project during upcoming meetings.

The above reports were presented for informational purposes only with no action required from the Committee.

- IV. Recess and Reconvene in Executive Session Pursuant to Chapter 551, Texas Government Code.

 The Human Resources Committee reconvened in Executive Session at 1:49 P.M.
- V. Reconvene in Open Session for Deliberation(s) and/or Action(s) deemed necessary regarding any matter listed on the Closed Session Agenda, Paragraphs IV. A and B. The Human Resources Committee reconvened in open session at 2:22 P.M., took the actions identified above in sections V.B with the following action(s):

Summary: Dorothy DeBose call for a motion extend the term of the President & Chief Executive Officer, Robert Earley Employment Agreement from a two (2) year term to a four (4) year term.

Action: The committee unanimously approved the motion made by Dr. Alan Podawiltz, seconded by Dr. Charles Webber to accept the recommendation to extend the term of Robert Earley, President & Chief Executive Officer Employment Agreement from a two (2) year term to a four (4) year term.

VI. Adjourn: There being no further business, and upon motion duly made and seconded, the meeting was adjourned at 2:30 P.M.

Norrothy De Bese		
Dorothy DeBose, Chair	Date	

Λ

,			