TARRANT COUNTY HOSPITAL DISTRICT (TCHD) d/b/a JPS HEALTH NETWORK

1500 S. Main Street Fort Worth, TX 76104 3rd Floor OPC Conference Room

QUALITY COMMITTEE MEETING 1:00 P.M. MONDAY, FEBRUARY 14, 2022

AGENDA

Meeting Minutes

The Tarrant County Hospital District ("District") Board of Managers Quality Committee met Thursday, February 14, 2022, with the following members present:

Steven Simmons, Committee Chair

Dorothy DeBose (Substituting for Charles Webber, M.D.)

DT Nguyen

Amanda Arizola

Charles Huggins, M.D.

Janet Miles, M.D.

Cheryl Hurd, M.D. (alternate)

Patient Advisors:

None

Others Attending:

Karen Duncan, M.D. Sr. President, Chief Executive Officer

Bryan Becker, M.D., President, Acclaim, Sr. Executive Vice President, JPS

Health Network

Sharon Clark, Sr. Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer Gerald Stephenson, M.D., Vice President, Chief Quality Officer

Daphne Walker, Sr. Vice President, Chief Legal Counsel (via telephone)

Colin Werenka, Sr. Vice President, Chief Compliance Officer

Lauren Poe, Vice President of Strategy, Chief of Staff Zelia Baugh, Executive Vice President, Behavioral Health

Sean Shelton, Recording Secretary

- I. CALL TO ORDER Dr. Simmons called the meeting to order at 1:06 p.m.
- II. CITIZENS WISHING TO ADDRESS THE BOARD

Summary: There were no citizens requesting to address the Board.

- III. EMPLOYEE RECOGNITION
 - A. The "Golden Mitt" Award Presentation G. Stephenson

Summary: Dr. Stephenson and the Board of Managers Quality Committee recognized the following departments as the winners of the Golden Mitt Award. Invasive Labs – Manager, Bobby Coleman, Tower 8 – Manager Cynthia Garcia Inpatient Cardiac Monitoring – Manager Deborah Tran

IV. CONSIDER MATTERS REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

A. Approval of Minutes -

Ms. DeBose motioned to approve the minutes of the September 2, 2021 meeting, seconded by Ms. Arizola, motion carried unanimously.

B. Approval of Tarrant County Hospital District Policies (TCHD) and/or Plans

- 1. A motion was made to approve policies NPSG 1300 Critical Alarms Policy, NR 300 Clinical Staff Safe Work Hours Policy, PC 900 Practitioner House Staff Orders as a slate by Ms. DeBose and seconded by Mr. Nguyen. The motion passed unanimously.
 - a) NPSG 1300 Critical Alarms Policy D. Dent
 - b) NR 300 Clinical Staff Safe Work Hours Policy D. Dent
 - c) PC 900 Practitioner House Staff Orders D. Dent

V. CONSIDER PERFORMANCE IMPROVEMENT REPORTS/UPDATES – NOT REQUIRING COMMITTEE ACTION

VI. TRUE NORTH: OUR PATIENTS

- **A.** Patient Experience G. Stephenson Dr. Stephenson gave an update to the board on the work being accomplished by the Patient Experience division. This report included organizational goal tracking for inpatient, outpatient, and emergency care.
- B. PSI 90 and Quality Scorecard G. Stephenson Dr. Stephenson provided the board a high level overview of the quality metrics defined in the PSI90 scorecard.
- C. Hand Hygiene Performance G. Stephenson Dr. Stephenson provided the board a year-end review of the hand hygiene metrics for the District.

VII. STRATEGIC IMPERATIVE #1 – SET A NEW STANDARD FOR A CULTURE OF EXCELLENCE

A. Strategic Priority 1.2 – Culture of Safety and High Reliability

1. Culture of Safety Survey Results – G. Stephenson – Dr. Stephenson review the results of the Culture of Safety Survey taken by staff members during the 2021 calendar year.

VIII. RECONVENE IN EXECUTIVE SESSION PURSUANT TO CHAPTER 551, TEXAS GOVERNMENT CODE FOR THE FOLLOWING:

- **A.** The committee reconvened in Executive Session at 1:30 p.m.
- IX. RECONVENE IN OPEN SESSION FOR DELIBERATION(S) AND/OR ACTION(S) DEEMED NECESSARY REGARDING ANY MATTER LISTED ON THE CLOSED SESSION AGENDA, PARAGRAPHS V. A, B, C, D, E, F AND G.

The committee reconvened in open session at 1:52 p.m.

X. ADJOURN

Ms. DeBose made a motion seconded by Mr. Nguyen to adjourn the meeting. There being no further business to discuss the meeting was adjourned at 1:52p.m.

Steven Simmons, M.D.

Date