First Class

June 18th, 2014

The inaugural class of Emergency Medicine residents at JPS has graduated, but only a few are saying good-bye to the Lone Star State. Five will remain familiar faces at John Peter Smith Hospital.

Adam Jennings, DO, named Emergency Medicine Resident of the Year at graduation, will join the Emergency Medicine faculty at JPS as assistant program director for the EM Residency. Veer Vithalani, MD, winner of the JPS Resident Teaching Award, will join the core faculty, too, while completing a traditional EMS fellowship with MedStar, as will Ferran Ros, DO, who will also work at Baylor All Saints Medical Center.

Josh Poles, DO, and Christine Tracy, DO, both will be part-time clinical faculty at JPS while practicing community emergency medicine at Methodist Charlton Medical Center in Dallas.

The remaining members of the inaugural class and their plans:

  • Ben Blake, DO, community emergency medicine at Texoma Medical Center.
  • Aaron Blue, MD, community emergency medicine in Eureka, Calif.
  • David Fernandez, DO, community emergency medicine in San Antonio.
  • Abdulla Kudrath, MD, community emergency medicine at multiple Texas locations.
  • Dillon Paul, MD, academic fellowship at Louisiana State University in Baton Rouge.
  • Jim Scribner, MD, emergency medicine faculty and director of emergency ultrasound at LSU.
  • Samar Yusuf, DO, clinical faculty and quality fellowship at the University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston.

Other Emergency Medicine award winners at graduation on June 7: Emergency Medicine Intern of the Year, Allison Trop, MD; Clinical Faculty Instructor of the Year, Kathleen Delaney, MD; and Lidia Hora, Outstanding Coordinator of the Year.

“All of us on the faculty and staffs of the Department of Emergency Medicine and the Medical Residency Program are very proud of the inaugural graduating class,” said Rick Robinson, MD, chairman and residency program director. “Five of the graduates will remain in the Metroplex to serve the citizens of Tarrant County and continue their hand-on involvement with building a world class training program for future emergency physicians.”


View photos on Facebook > 

Share this article!