Who Can Participate?

Historically Underutilized businesses (HUBs) and Small, Minority, Women, Veteran Business Enterprises (SMWVBEs)

  • HUB: Historically Underutilized Business. A business that is at least 51% owned by one or more persons who are (1) socially and economically disadvantaged; (2) actively participate in the control, operation and management of the business’s affairs; and (3) U.S. Citizens
  • Certified HUBs and SMWVBEs that meet the requirements of the certification agencies of a HUB and SMWVBE and meet the requirements of certification agencies recognized by Tarrant County and the State of Texas.

JPS recognizes but not limits to the following third party certifying agencies: 

  • DFWMSDC (Dallas/Fort Worth Minority Supplier Development Council)
  • WBENC (Women's Business Council-Southwest)
  • HUB (Historical Underutilized Business - State Agency of Texas)
  • NCTRCA (North Central Texas Regional Certification Agency)
  • NMSDC (National Minority Supplier Development Council)
  • TUCP (Texas Unified Certification Program - Disadvantaged Business Enterprises)
  • SBE (Small Business Enterprise Program)
  • SBA (8(a) Business Development Program)
  • HUBZone (HUBZone Empowerment Contracting Program)
  • Veterans